End Of Term Gift – Thank You Cookies

Hi! So this week we have been baking. I wanted to make something for Mia’s playschool teachers with a personal touch and with her involvement. You could always save or pin this gift idea for next year, if your already in the summer holidays like us. Although, this is a handy recipe to bake yourself some cookies for whenever you feel the ‘need’Β πŸ˜‹.

To see how I made the apple pom pom key-ring click here.

I needed to make a double batch to fill 4 jars for my daughter’s playschool staff. Β I added some cocoa to half the batch, they seemed to have the best texture for the ‘thank you’ stamp to be read clearly. You can really use this as a basic recipe and add things like cocoa nibs or chocolate chips.

I used a cutter from a 3 piece Kitchencraft set which can be purchased here.

I used a free range duck egg for the yolk Β – freshly laid by one of my pet ducks, but free range chicken egg would also be fine. Remember, it is just the yolk though – I forgot first time and cracked the whole egg into the bowl full of ingredientsΒ πŸ™„Β and had to start again.

Ingredients to make around 30 biscuits:

  • 250g soft butter
  • 140g caster sugar
  • 1 free range egg yolk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 300g plain flour
  • Cocoa if you want some chocolate flavour (I used this organic raw cocoa powder)

Folk & Sons (14)Folk & Sons (3)Folk & Sons (4)Folk & Sons (5)Folk & Sons (6)Folk & Sons (7)Folk & Sons (8)Folk & Sons (9)Folk & Sons (11)Folk & Sons (12)

My daughter and husband tried one to make sure they tasted good. They wanted all the leftovers, so that’s a good sign 😁.

I then stored them in clip-top air tight glass jars and decorated with the personalised pom pom apple key-ring.

These were fun to make and give out and hopefully the playschool leaders enjoyed theirs with a nice cup of tea.

Feel free to comment below if you found this useful, or to let me know what you add to biscuits/ cookies to make them even more yum.

Jaimi xx

50 thoughts on “End Of Term Gift – Thank You Cookies

  1. annajeanharris2017 says:

    Wow, Jaimi! You really went above and beyond to show appreciation to your daughter’s preschool teachers! I’m impressed…and I know home-made gifts are usually more meaningful to people than something that takes 2 min to pick up at the grocery store. I also love how you involved your daughter making this gift! Good modeling for her, too πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

